Call (702) 541-0882 for car insurance quotes.
Auto insurance protects you and your family against financial loss if you cause an accident. Insurance covers the injuries and damages caused during an accident up to the coverage limits. It may also cover the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle if it is damaged or stolen.
In Nevada, you are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance (or post a bond) in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident in Bodily Injury coverage and a minimum of $20,000 Property Damage. Before you can register a new car you must have proof of insurance and a passed Smog test. If you are caught driving without car insurance, you may have to pay a large fine, have your driver’s license suspended, and/or have your car impounded.
Return to Personal Insurance Page
You will need an SR-22 when a state requires a driver to prove they are financially able to pay for an accident, which is typically via an auto liability insurance policy. A SR-22 is the most common form required to be filed with the state as proof of coverage. Financial Responsibility filings are usually required for Driving without Insurance, Driving with a Suspended License, or other serious infractions such as DUI.)
AUTO INSURANCE COVERAGES
When you cause an accident, liability insurance either pays for expenses related to damages done to the other driver and any passengers (bodily injury liability) or damage to another party’s property (property damage liability).
Liability insurance is the minimum amount of insurance that any person or business must carry in the state of Nevada. Liability Insurance protects the individual or business if they may be held legally liable for causing bodily injuries, property damage, or medical injuries to someone else because of their negligence or malpractice. Liability insurance policies cover both legal costs and any legal payouts for which the insured would be responsible if found legally liable up to the coverage limits. Intentional damage and contractual liability are typically not covered in these types of policies.
Bodily Injury Liability coverage is for other driver’s and passengers’ injuries or death for which you are at fault.
Property Damage Liability coverage for damages to someone else’s property for which you are at fault.
COMPREHENSIVE OR OTHER THAN COLLISION
Comprehensive Coverage pays for your vehicle in case of losses resulting from an event other than an accident, such as theft, hitting an animal, vandalism, or a tree branch falling on your vehicle. Your deductible amount will be subtracted from total amount paid.
Collision Coverage pays offers protection against crashes with a stationary object or another vehicle. It covers the cost of repairs or replacement to your car.
Uninsured/Under-insured (UI/UIM) Motorist Coverage protects against the risk of getting into an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance, whose insurance is minimal, or who does a hit-and-run. It take care of your injuries, damages or death caused by an at-fault driver without insurance or without enough insurance to cover all costs. This coverage could also pay if the other parties’ cannot be identified because they left the accident scene. UM/UIM coverage is not mandated by law. It is an optional coverage that many Nevadans purchase to ensure that they and passengers in their vehicles have adequate protection if a covered vehicle is hit by an uninsured driver, a hit-and-run driver, or by a driver who does not have high enough insurance limits to pay for medical expenses. Nevada law requires insurance companies to offer UM/UIM coverage in an amount that is no less than the statutory minimum liability amount.
If you currently carry UM/UIM in an amount less than 25/50 ($25,000 of coverage per person and $50,000 of coverage per incident for bodily injury), your insurance company will have to increase the offered UM/UIM limits to 25/50 also. To do so, your insurance company or insurance agent will ask you to fill out a new “UM/UIM Selection/Rejection Form”.
Contact Us for an Automobile Insurance Quote!
Policies often cover parties other than the named insured.
You may need to add others to your policy when your spouse needs to be listed, other household members need coverage, or when someone else has co-ownership of the insured property or vehicle and uses it on a regular basis (find out whether your policy will cover a loss to your vehicle while it was driven by someone else). The policy would cover these individuals or organizations as additional insureds.
Unlike an additional insured, an additional interest is a third party who has an interest in protecting the property or vehicle insured but is not themselves insured under the policy. What this means is that they have a reason for wanting the property or vehicle to have insurance coverage in the event of a loss.
- Finance Company
- Mortgage Company
- Family member financing auto
Medical Payments Coverage pays for bodily injury caused by an accident sustained by an insured person incurred by you and passengers in your vehicle injured in an accident.
Deductible is the amount you agree to pay before your insurance kicks in. The higher your deductible the lower your premium usually is.
If you’re involved in an accident that causes $5,000 worth of damage and your deductible is $500, then you are on the hook for that first $500 before your insurance takes care of the rest. You can look at the $500 deductible as an entry fee before your insurance will kick in and pay the claim.
PREMIUM OR RATE
Premium – the periodic payment paid by the insured to the insurance company in exchange for insurance coverage.
How to Spot a Drunk Driver and What to Do
These warning signs should be your signal to take down a licence plate number and vehicle description to report to the proper authorities. call 911
-Weaving, swerving, wide turns, straddling lanes • Sudden stops, delayed starts
-Driving too slowly
-Driving with headlights off at night
-Rapid acceleration or deceleration
-Turning abruptly or illegally
-Following too closely
-Appearing to be drunk – drinking in vehicle, face close to windshield, lack of peripheral vision
Do not attempt to stop or follow the vehicle.
Below are penalties for a typical
DUI first offense. Penalties for subsequent convictions are harsher. A third DUI within seven years or a DUI which involves death or substantial bodily harm are felony offenses.
• Vehicle Impounded
• Two days to six months in jail or community service
• Fine $400 to $1,000
• Chemical Test Fee $60
• DUI School or Substance Abuse Treatment
• Victim Impact Panel
• Ignition Interlock in Vehicle or License Revocation
• $121 Reinstatement Fee
• $35 Victims Compensation Civil Penalty
• $42.25 Driver License Fee + $26 Testing Fee
• DMV Tests – Vision, Knowledge, possibly Skills
• SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance required for three years
Contact Us for an Automobile Insurance Quote!
TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL
If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points you may have 3 points removed by completing a traffic safety course only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law. If the course is required to complete a plea bargain with a court, no credit is given.
The school must be one of those approved by the DMV. You may attend traffic school only once in a 12-month period to remove points from your record.
Attending traffic safety school removes 3 demerit points. However, the record of the conviction remains part of your driving history.
For your convenience, we listed a few traffic schools. We do not recommend one over the other.
CELL PHONE LAW NV
Nevada law prohibits hand-held cellphone use and texting while driving. The fines are $50 for the first offense in seven years, $100 for the second and $250 for the third and subsequent offenses. Fines are subject to doubling if the offense occurs in a work zone.
The first offense is not treated as a moving violation. Second and subsequent offenses carry 4 demerit points.
When bicycles are ridden with other traffic, cyclists must obey the same rules and regulations as other types of vehicles. The safe interaction between bicyclists and motorists is the responsibility of both parties.
Motorists are not allowed to intentionally interfere with the movement of a person lawfully operating a bicycle; bicyclists may not intentionally interfere with the movement of a motor vehicle.
At intersections, motorists must yield to cyclists as they would for other vehicles and pedestrians.
When passing a cyclist, motorists must move into an adjacent lane to the left if possible. If not, the motorist must pass with at least 3 feet of clearance.
Motorists must yield the right-of-way to a cyclist on a bicycle path or in a bike lane.
Motorists may not stop, park or drive on a designated bicycle path or lane unless they are entering or leaving an alley or driveway, performing official duties, directed by a police officer, or an emergency situation exists.
A cyclist is required to ride on the right side of the roadway.
Cyclists ride in a traffic lane, staying to the far right as practicable unless preparing to turn or overtake another vehicle.
Cyclists must obey all traffic signs and signals and use hand signals to let others know what they plan to do.
Inexperienced riders, especially children, require special courtesy and care. They may not always follow traffic rules. Be especially careful around these riders and expect the unexpected.
ACCIDENTAL DEATH INDEMNITY & SPECIFIC DISABILITY BENEFITS
Accidental Death Indemnity & Specific Disability Benefits provides accidental death and disability benefits up to the covered limits
COLLECTIBLE AUTO / ANTIQUE AUTO / HOT ROD AUTO
Classic car insurance is not the same as daily driver insurance. Most insurance companies will only give you liability coverage for you auto if it is over 25 years old and stated value of a few thousand dollars.
As of 2023, the state of Nevada requires that classic car owners have classic car insurance. That often means those cars have to be kept in a garage, and driven only a few thousand miles a year. Some insurance companies may require the vehicles to be registered for car shows or events.
There are special insurance companies that insure cars owned by car enthusiasts. These companies will insure your older vehicle just like it were new. Collectible Auto insurance packages are available for your unique needs.
AGREED VALUE COVERAGE
Prior to issuing your policy, you and your agent come to an “agreed value” for your vehicle. In the event that there is a total loss to your vehicle, the “agreed value” is the amount you will receive without subtracting a deductible. A picture from each corner of the vehicle is required.
STATED VALUE COVERAGE
Stated Value policy give the insurer the right to pay you either your vehicle’s depreciated cash value amount or the cost to replace your vehicle—and they will choose the lower of the two amounts.
Rideshare Drivers Need Special Insurance
Rideshare refers to certain online transportation services. Specifically, it means any such service that is accessed through a mobile electronic device application or through a digital network. The service must involve matching riders to drivers who are compensated for picking up and transporting persons between agreed-upon locations. Insureds who are involved with driver services such as UBER and LYFT represent a new coverage challenge under a personal automobile policy.
The service must involve matching riders to drivers who are compensated for picking up and transporting persons between agreed-upon locations. Insureds who are involved with driver services such as UBER and LYFT represent a new coverage challenge under a personal automobile policy Ridesharing matches you with a nearby driver who will pick you up and take you where you want to go. Rideshare coverage protects you and your vehicle if you drive for a ridesharing service such as Uber and Lyft. While ridesharing companies may provide some insurance that applies to drivers operating on their platforms, their coverage may be limited while you’re waiting to match with a rider. Many insurers offer additional rideshare insurance that you can add to your personal auto policy to help fill coverage gaps.
Your personal policy covers you when you are driving anywhere or when you turn on the rideshare application, if you have the rideshare endorsement on your policy, while waiting for a rideshare client. If you drive for rideshare and you do not have the rideshare endorsement and you cause an accident, there may not be coverage.
When you accept a rideshare order, at the time of acceptance, your coverage flips over to the rideshare company you are driving for. When you drop the client off and they exit your car, that is when your insurance coverage turns back over to your regular insurance. Many rideshare drivers also deliver food for Grubhub or Postmates.
Rideshare driving does not cover pizza delivery.
Rideshare drivers must add a Rideshare endorsement added to their personal lines insurance. A minimum liability coverage of $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, and $50000 property damage is required.
Contact Us for a Rideshare Insurance Quote
SAFE DRIVING TIPS
Tire check – tires should have adequate tread and proper insulation (Check your owners manual for proper pressure). Remember to check the pressure after the tires have warmed from driving.
Signals and lights – remember to check all signals and lights to make sure everything is functioning properly.
Seatbelt – Always your seatbelts and harnesses as recommended.
Headrests – properly adjust address so that the distance between the back of the head and the headrest is minimized. (optimal position might not be possible in vehicles.)
miscellaneous items – in the event of an accident, these objects can act as missiles. Secure items like pens pencils in the glove box or in the trunk.
General repairs – make sure the vehicle is in good states of repairs Including brakes, engine, oil change call my windshield wiper fluid.
GENERAL DRIVING TIPS
Speed limit – Obey posted speed limit. Reduce speed in conditions Such as fog, snow, rain, and low light.
Lane changes – avoid excessive lane changes, causes distraction for you and other drivers. Changing lanes does not significantly reduce travel time.
Bling spots – no your cars Blindspot‘s and be aware of them while driving
Intersections – Majority of car to car accidents occur in and around intersections. A contributing factor to this is fall start. Which is one of the signal changes to green and vehicle begins to move forward that abruptly stops due to unexpected cause.
WHAT IS DISTRACTED DRIVING?
With more portable technology now than ever, driver distractions have risen to unprecedented numbers. But cell phones aren’t the only problem.
Drivers can be distracted by eating and drinking, grooming, tuning the radio or even talking to passengers. Anything that takes a driver’s attention from the road is a potential hazard.
There are three main types of distraction:
• Visual — taking your eyes off the road
• Manual — taking your hands off the wheel
• Cognitive — taking your mind off driving
While all distractions can endanger drivers’ safety, texting is the most alarming because it involves all three types.
Other distracting activities include:
• Using a cell phone
• Eating and drinking
• Talking to passengers
• Reading, including maps
• Using a PDA or navigation system
• Watching a video
• Changing the radio station, CD, or Mp3 player
Young Drivers At Risk Young drivers are more at risk of distracted driving— especially those under 20 years of age.
Nevada has two important restrictions on drivers under 18.
• Drivers age 16 or 17 may not transport passengers under 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after receiving their full license. (NRS 483.2523)
• Drivers age 16 or 17 may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as work or school events. (NRS 484B.907)
REGISTER YOUR VEHICLE IN NV
Get insurance before you register the vehicle. You must show your Nevada Evidence of Insurance at registration. You must carry the card and your Certificate of Registration in the vehicle at all times.
Out of state insurance is not accepted in Nevada.
You should update your insurance information with the DMV anytime you make a change to your policy, especially if the policy number has changed.
You may receive a verification request if you don’t.
You will need your Evidence of Insurance or policy Declarations Page. At least one named insured must be in common on your vehicle registration and insurance policy. The name listed should match the name on the insured’s driver license. Ensure the Vehicle Identification Number matches on the registration, insurance and the vehicle itself.
DO YOU NEED AN SR-22?
A driver license suspension or revocation is a separate action from any court case. Reinstatement of your driving privileges is not automatic. You must follow DMV reinstatement procedures and physically receive a license to regain your driving privileges, even if your criminal charges were dismissed or reduced.
No state may issue a driver license if there is an active suspension or revocation in another state. License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. If your driving privilege is suspended or revoked in another state, you must follow that state’s reinstatement procedures prior to obtaining a Nevada driver license.
If you are required to maintain an SR-22 filing as a condition of your reinstatement, it must be maintained for three years from the date you reinstate your driver license.
If at anytime during the three-year period you fail to maintain the SR-22, your driving privilege will be suspended. This may result in starting the three-year requirement again. If we receive a cancellation of your SR-22, you will be notified of a possible suspension by certified mail.
There is no statute of limitations on the SR-22 requirement. The continuous three-year requirement begins from the date you reinstate your driver’s license regardless of how long you have been in suspension or when you purchased the coverage.
The DMV does not notify drivers of when they are eligible to remove the SR-22 filing. If you are unsure of the date, please contact us.
If you do not maintain coverage continuously during the required period, your insurance company will notify the DMV by sending a Form SR-26. DMV will suspend your license and send notification of this to you by certified mail. The required period of coverage will begin over.
Contact Us for an Insurance quote that includes an SR-22.
TYPES OF SUSPENSIONS & REVOCATIONS
Examples of driver license suspensions and revocations are listed below. Juveniles may also have the issuance of their license delayed for some offenses.
Point Suspension — When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points against your license in a 12-month period.
Driving Under the Influence — If breath, blood or urine tests reveal you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or if you are convicted of DUI.
Collision with Bicyclist or Pedestrian — If you cause a collision with a person riding a bicycle or a pedestrian.
Failure to Appear — If you receive a traffic ticket and do not pay the fine on time or do not appear as required.
Security Deposit — If an accident occurs with more than $750 in damage (personal injury or property damage) and you do not have liability insurance. Driver’s license and vehicle registration are suspended.
Failure to Maintain Insurance
- If you are required to provide proof of financial responsibility because of a license suspension or revocation and do not do so, or;
- if you are cited by law enforcement and convicted of failure to maintain insurance, or;
- if you have repeated lapses in vehicle liability coverage.
Child Support — If you are in arrears in court-ordered child support payments.
Graffiti — If you are found guilty of a graffiti violation.
Firearms — If a juvenile is found guilty of certain offenses related to firearms.
Street Racing — If you are found guilty of participating in, or organizing, an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway.
Alcohol and Drugs — If a juvenile is found guilty of buying, drinking or possessing alcohol; or using, possessing, selling or distributing any controlled substance.
Your license may be canceled for an incorrect or fraudulent license application or it may be canceled if a check written to pay driver license fees is returned for insufficient funds.
Contact Us for an Insurance quote that includes an SR-22.
REINSTATING YOUR LICENSE
Your privilege will remain suspended or revoked indefinitely until you comply with all reinstatement requirements and receive a new license. There is no time limit or statute of limitations for reinstating suspensions or revocations.
In addition to any other requirements, you may have to take vision, written, and driving skills tests. The driving skills test will be required if your license has been suspended or revoked for more than one year.
You may also need to submit a SR-22 with your reinstatement.
Contact Us for an Insurance quote that includes an SR-22.
Department of Motor Vehicles Nevada LIVE 555 Wright Way Carson City, Nevada 89711-0800
(775) 684-4850 Reno/Sparks/Carson City (702) 486-8696 Las Vegas Area (800) 344-0483 Rural/Toll Free (775) 684-4904 TDD (Hearing Impaired only) (775) 684-4543 Fax (Nevada LIVE only)
Copyright © 2023 Get Help With Insurance – All Rights Reserved.